History

The Saint Siméon Farmhouse Inn, a Beautiful Farm with a Glorious Artistic Past !

Once upon a time, this gorgeous 17th century farmhouse was a place abounding with new ideas and perspectives. In around the year 1840, several young artists sojourned within its illustrious walls. Thanks to the warm welcome they received from “Mother Toutain,” the innkeeper at the time, this flock of young painters, hungry for nature and fresh, country air, produced a number of exceptional pieces of artwork which are treasured today. These extraordinary encounters gave rise to the famous Impressionist School of Honfleur, otherwise known as the School of Saint Siméon.

image Ciels - Eugène Boudin

Painters have always worked outside, if only to provide a stage for their representations. Eventually one realized that a landscape could be picturesque, worthy of being portrayed all by itself, and thereby express the sensitivity and emotion of the artist.

This taste for nature first appeared with English painters, who came to the French countryside for inspiration to feed their talent.

But soon these artist gatherings would bear witness to a trend that was quickly gaining steam, namely that of the love for outdoor pictorial art.

A stunning view: The Seine Estuary...The immense and magnificent river, the sea and its shifting horizons, a constant mist; a prism bathed with swaying brightness, decomposed colors, and clouds that roll in clear blue or the softest of grays, sometimes leaden, always improbable. Sudden gusts, runoff from light-filled rain showers, flowing yellows and ochers...The marvel of these unpredictable scenes, sought after so dearly by our young artists, today more than ever the darlings of the arts.

Air, water, light...Moments.

Read more Less
image

To everyone’s greatest delight, these children of the light met and mingled at the Saint Siméon Farm, where the charitable Mother Toutain, as early as 1825, could not think of any other way to be a pleasant hostess than to lavishly spoil and treat them to all the scrumptious recipes to which only she held the secret, and which forged the reputation of her Norman kitchen.

The small group of painters, longing for nature and obsessed with the sea and its panoramas, gathered at this most welcoming of inns.

There was Boudin, Jongkind, Corot, Courbet, Bazille, Monet, and so many other talents which have gone forgotten, Daubigny, Dubourg, Isabey, Lebourg, Troyon...The list goes on and on! Happy and well-fed, their thirsts quenched with delicious ciders and other fruity calvados, the artists went on to produce several works, one as beautiful as the other. The result was an extensive production which can be found today in the most exquisite museums in France (Orsay, Eugène Boudin Museum, Musée Malraux) or during estate settlements in the world’s biggest auction houses.

Often, the impoverished young artists would leave a piece of their artwork with Mother Toutain to pay for their stay...A vast collection was thus able to be put together from this time, one exuding the richness of these unforgettable encounters.

Who was the kind “Mother Toutain,” the innkeeper at that time? A canon of her era? Perhaps. A gossip? Of course! But only with the joviality of a dear friend...She was an overseer with a colorful personality, snappy and direct with a soft, "motherly” side towards these young, capricious, often endearing young boys...they were her spoiled children. “Her” young artists, whom she cared for deeply, gathered around charming and undoubtedly raucous tables, merry from Norman delights which we can imagine being served in generous proportions...

“Hop to it Rose! Go and fetch some cider quick, these gentleman are thirsty!” And Rose would run down to the cellar with its rows of massive barrels of the golden concoction...

Read more Less
image La route sous la neige - Claude Monet

The grandiose Inn still towers over its Estuary...

A passage from the famous poet and Honfleur native Lucie Delarue Mardrus, who used words the same way others used touches of colorful pastels, provides a better idea of the Inn today...

“There’s something wonderful in the air on the Côte de Grâce. It’s that the Estuary is over there, with its colors of the rainbow. You see it at the end of a large valley, between the dark-hued branches of the magnificent trees; there are sailboats in the Estuary, setting suns, one over the other in the distance at low tide in the glossy mud, admirable, local; a beauty that comes close to the whites and pinks of spring, to royal autumns, stripped of leaves, with withered flowers on the hilly lawns we walk across; all set under circular clouds and flat blue skies, mist, rain...”

We might also consider the words written by Monet to his friend Bazille: “Every day I discover new things which are more beautiful than those from the day before. It’s enough to make one giddy.”

Read more Less
image

Today, as in the past, the breathtaking Saint Siméon Farm maintains its position of prestige by continuing to watch over its Estuary, as if raising itself up to get a better glimpse of the water and air which will blend together under our enchanted gazes for all of eternity.

The various building structures remain in place, with the farm itself in the bluish green reflections of its slate coat, the timber-studded pavilion, where people and animals once mingled, and the marvelous thatched cottage facing them, under its straw hat. Once painted by Monet, it was also an eyewitness to the “Saint Siméon meetings,” when Boudin, a child of the country, trained Monet and the others from their small group during neverending discussions, and when these same men drank apple brandy during breaks from their painting.

The beautiful rooms still exist today, which means you can sleep in the room that once belonged to Monet (No. 22) or the one that served as Corot’s studio (No. 19). Both artists were particularly attached to their rooms. Monet’s was bathed in light, which shone into one window and out another, while Corot’s was his place of work and rest, and featured a huge corbel window which allowed him to monitor every little change in the hues of his beloved Estuary...A great source of enchantment for these artists, a stay at the Inn is the perfect way to follow in their footsteps, to let yourself be dazzled and pampered by a one-of-a-kind experience...

While there, enjoy a painting class with a native Honfleur artist who is enamored by the sublime luster of this meticulously preserved little port.

Read more Less
image

Take some time out of your busy schedule to treat yourself to a restful vacation at this timeless farm basked in an incomparable luminosity which so many eyes, light and dark, have admired in its purest form...

Read more Less

Requesting your consent to use cookies on this site in order to better service you | Learn more

OK NOT RIGHT NOW

Histoire

La Ferme Saint Siméon, une Ferme de Beauté au passé artistique prestigieux !

Dans cette belle Ferme Auberge, construite au XVII ème siècle, un vent de nouveauté s’est un jour levé. Vers 1840, de nombreux jeunes artistes ont séjourné dans ces murs vénérables, et grâce au bon accueil de la Mère Toutain, qui occupait les lieux à cette époque-là, tous ces petits peintres en mal de nature et de vent frais du large, ont produit quantité d’œuvres exceptionnelles et célèbres aujourd’hui. Ces rencontres extraordinaires ont donné naissance à la fameuse Ecole d’Impressionnisme de Honfleur, dite de Saint Siméon.

image Ciels - Eugène Boudin

De tout temps, les peintres ont travaillé à l’extérieur ; ne serait-ce que pour meubler le décor des allégories. Puis on s’avisa qu’un paysage pouvait être pittoresque, digne d’être représenté pour lui-même, et exprimer ainsi la sensibilité et l’émotion de l’artiste.

Ce goût de la nature apparut d’abord avec les peintres anglais, qui vinrent chercher dans nos contrées l’inspiration à leur talent.

Mais, très vite, ces réunions d’artistes vont voir le nombre de ces amoureux de l’art pictural en plein air s’augmenter de plus en plus.

Panorama privilégié : l’Estuaire de la Seine.. Le fleuve immense et magnifique, la mer et ses horizons changeants, l’atmosphère constamment vaporeuse, prisme où baignent les clartés mouvantes, les couleurs décomposées, les nuages qui roulent dans l’azur limpide ou les gris tantôt doux, tantôt plombés, toujours improbables. Soudaines bourrasques, ruissellement d’averses lumineuses, de coulées diaprées de rayons jaunes et ocres.. Merveille de ces tableaux changeants, que voulurent s’approprier nos jeunes petits peintres, aujourd’hui plus que jamais chéris des arts.

L’air, l’eau, la lumière .. Instants.

En savoir plus Réduire
image Jardins de l’Auberge Saint Siméon - Dubourg

Ces enfants de la lumière se rencontrèrent et se côtoyèrent, pour le plus grand bonheur de tous, à La Ferme Saint Siméon, où la bonne Mère Toutain, dès 1825, ne savait que faire pour leur être agréable, les gâter et les régaler d’abondance , de toutes les délicieuses recettes dont elle avait le secret, et qui firent la réputation de sa table normande.

Ainsi, la petite troupe de ces peintres en mal de nature, tous obnubilés par la mer et ses ciels, se regroupèrent dans cette auberge accueillante en tous points.

On pense à Boudin, Jongkind, Corot, Courbet, Bazille, Monet, et tant d’autres talents que l’on ne compte plus, Daubigny, Dubourg, Isabey, Lebourg, Troyon.. On n’en finirait pas ! Tous, heureux et bien nourris, désaltérés de cidre goûteux et autres calvados pleinement fruités, se mirent à produire quantité d’œuvres, toutes plus belles les unes que les autres.. Une ample production que l’on retrouve aujourd’hui encore dans nos plus beaux musées de France (Orsay, Musée Eugène Boudin, Musée Malraux), ou à l’occasion de quelques successions, dans les grandes salles de ventes.

Souvent, ces jeunes artistes peu argentés, laissaient une œuvre à la Mère Toutain, pour règlement de leur pension.. C’est ainsi qu’une vaste collection se constitua à cette époque, riche de ces inoubliables rencontres.

Cette bonne Mère Toutain, qui gérait l’auberge à l’époque. Canonicat de l’âge ? Peut-être. Commère, bien sûr ! Par familiarité joviale.. Maîtresse femme, personnage coloré, franchise et parler à l’emporte-pièce, avec une pointe de commisération « maternelle » envers ces jeunes garçons inconséquents, souvent attachants.. Ils furent ses enfants gâtés. « Ses » petits artistes qu’elle chérissait, tous intégrés dans les charmantes et certainement bruyantes tablées, bien arrosées des délices normands que l’on imagine servis généreusement..

« Allons la Rose ! Vas vite « kri » du cidre, ces messieurs ont « sé » ! Et Rose de courir au cellier où d’immenses tonnes s’alignaient pleines du breuvage doré..

En savoir plus Réduire
image La route sous la neige - Claude Monet

La belle auberge domine toujours son Estuaire..

Pour le dépeindre aujourd’hui encore, l’on peut s’en remettre à Lucie Delarue Mardrus, célèbre poétesse née à Honfleur, qui mit des mots là où d’autres mirent des touches de pastels colorés..

« Dans l’air de la Côte de Grâce, on respire du merveilleux. C’est qu’il y a là l’Estuaire aux sept couleurs. On le voit au fond d’un grand creux, entre les branches foncées des beaux arbres ; il y a là les barques à voiles sur l’Estuaire, les soleils couchants répétés au loin à marée basse dans la vase laquée, admirable, de chez nous ; la beauté toute proches de printemps blancs et roses, d’automnes royaux, effeuillés, bouquets morts sur les gazons vallonnés que l’on parcourt ; il y a tout cela parmi des nuages ronds et des azurs plats, des brumes et des pluies.. »

Et Monet d’écrire à son ami Bazille : « Tous les jours, je découvre des choses encore plus belles, c’est à en devenir fou.. »

En savoir plus Réduire
image

Aujourd’hui, comme autrefois, la belle Ferme Saint Siméon garde sa position privilégiée, en continuant de surveiller son Estuaire, comme se haussant pour mieux voir les ondes et les airs qui se mélangeront éternellement sous nos regards émerveillés.

Les différents corps de bâtiments sont toujours là, la ferme elle-même dans les reflets vert bleutés de son manteau d’ardoise, le pavillon dans ses colombages, où jadis bêtes et gens se côtoyaient, et la chaumière merveilleuse, qui leur fait face, sous son chapeau de paille. Autrefois peinte par Monet, elle fut aussi le témoin complice des « rencontres de Saint Siméon », où Boudin, l’enfant du pays, entraînait Monet et toute la petite troupe dans des causeries interminables, où ces messieurs dégustaient la belle eau de vie de pommes, après avoir, pour un temps, posé leurs pinceaux.

Aujourd’hui encore, les belles chambres existent toujours, et vous pourrez dormir dans la chambre qui était celle de Monet jadis (chambre 22), ou dans l’atelier de Corot (chambre 19). Ces deux artistes étaient particulièrement attachés à ces pièces. Monet pour la lumière traversante qui la baignait, Corot, parce qu’il travaillait et logeait dans sa chambre, dont l’immense fenêtre en encorbellement lui permettait de surveiller chaque changement dans les teintes de son Estuaire préféré.. Après avoir enchanté tous ces artistes, quoi de mieux que de marcher sur leurs pas, en se laissant éblouir et bercer par une expérience hors du commun..

Vous pourrez, par exemple, prendre des cours de peinture, avec une artiste native de Honfleur, amoureuse de l’éclat si beau de ce petit port merveilleusement préservé.

En savoir plus Réduire
image La Ferme Saint Simeon aujourd'hui

Vous qui passez sans toujours la voir, prenez le temps d’une halte bénéfique dans cette Ferme hors du temps, face à l’incomparable lumière, que tant d’yeux, bleus ou noirs, ont admiré sans mélange..

En savoir plus Réduire

Nous vous demandons votre permission d'utiliser des cookies sur ce site pour mieux vous servir | En savoir plus

OK PAS POUR LE MOMENT